Tänään tottelevaisuustunnilla hinkattiin Diisun kanssa kauko-ohjausta, joka ei oikein toimi vielä pitkältä matkalta. Diesel myös pompauttaa takapuoltaan usein sekä istumaan noustessaan että maahan käydessään, kokonaisuudessaan koiran liikkuminen useamman asennon vaihdon jälkeen on yleensä pikemminkin hieman taaksepäin kuin eteenpäin.

Seuraamisessa minun käännökseni vasemmalle saisi kuulemma olla napakampi ja selkeämpi. Tarvii treenata sitä lisää siis, jotta saisi Diisun takapuoleen enemmän liikettä käännyttäessä vasemmalle.

Ollaan harjoiteltu pari kertaa nyt sitä, että Diisun jäädessä maate ja minun poistuessa näkösuojaan, joku muu käy sitä palkkaamassa namilla ja toistaa maahan-käskyn. Tässä on ajatuksena se, että Diesel rentoutuisi kun paikalla on kuitenkin muita ihmisiä ja sille tulisi sellainen varmuus, että se voi maata siinä rauhassa odottamassa, joku kyllä pitää siitä aina huolta. Vähän se kyllä vinkuu minun perääni, mutta ei ole sen oloinen, että siitä nousisi ja lähtisi liikkeelle. "Virallinen valvoja" onkin kyllä aina tarkkana että voi käydä runttaamassa sen takaisin maate, jos nousee. Ei ole tarvinnut onneksi antaa tätä palautetta.

Today we went to Diesel's obedience class again. At first we focused on the long-distance control exercise in Obedience trial Class 2 where the handler leaves the dog in lying position and moves 5 metres away from the dog. There he commands the dog to sit up, lie down again, sit up again and once more to lie down and then returns to the dog. Diesel has difficulties in not moving his butt when doing this exercise. He often jumps up a little when sitting up and then crawls backwards a little when lying down. And when I take a longer distance from him, the mistakes graduate or he has difficulties in switching positions with the first command.

We also did some heelwork and I was told my left turn is not sharp and clear enough, also Diesel should control his butt better in the left turn.

Another thing to practise more is the 3 minute down-stay with handler out of sight. I can't train this much by myself, I need someone to watch over what Diesel is doing when I am out of sight. I need a helper who will immediately correct him if he decides to stand up or go search for me. Diesel whines a little when he is doing down-stay with me out of sight which is not good. My solution is that my helper who is watching over him will go to him when he is calm and quiet and reward him with a treat and repeat the command "down". This way I think Diesel will learn to not worry so much about not being able to see me; there is always someone around who will take care of him and tell him what to do.
So far so good... the helper has not yet had to correct him, only phraise and reward. :-)