Tein tänään Dieselille ensimmäisen jälkiharjoituksen. Tein rehupellolle noin 20 metriä pitkän jäljen jolla oli ruokaa joka askeleella. Jälki kulki kutakuinkin myötätuuleen, tosin tuuli vähän pyörähteli välillä. Koira ei nähnyt jäljentekoa.

Toin Dieselin valjaissa jäljen alkupaikalle ja katsoin mitä se teki. En antanut mitään käskyä, enkä osoittanut jälkeä. Se löysi jäljen, haistoi namit ja alkoi jäljestää. :-) Alussa oli vähän palaamista taaksepäin kun alkuun jäi varmaan pari namia, mutta maltoin odottaa ja antaa koiran ratkaista ja niin se jatkoi sitten eteenpäin. Hitaasti mentiin, niin tarkkaan Diesel nöhki jälkeä. Noin 5 min meni siihen 20 metriin. Kiva juttu, olen tyytyväinen, että ei sinkoillut eikä kiirehtinyt, ja oli hyvin kiinnostunut jäljestä.

Video

Today Diesel had his first tracking exercise. I wanted to see if he is interested in tracking.
So I made a track on a field and I little pieces of food on every step, under the toes, as I walked. The track was only about 20 m long and the wind was blowing from behind my back as I walked and laid the track. The direction of the wind is important, so that the dog is tracking nose close to the ground truly following the track and not getting the scent of the track and/or food in the wind.

When I was done with the track, I took Diesel to the area where the track started. I did not give any commands or point out the track, I just waited a while and he picked up the track and found the food and started tracking. :-) At first he was not sure what to do but soon understood that if he follows the track in the right direction, there will be more food.

As you can see on the video, I do not talk to him and when he goes off-track, I do not advice him, he must return to the track by himself. And he does that. He is very slow, it took about 5 minutes to do this short track, and it is very very good that he is slow, because he is very careful. :-)